Search OPAC
Search OPAC

Tag Archives: Love

Book of the Week

Date Published: 11/03/2019

A Song Only I Can Hear by award-winning author Barry Jonsberg is a beautifully moving comedy-drama coming of age story. It is one of the first novels to deal with LGBTQ themes and issues for younger teens and middle years’

Read More

Book of the Week and Future Classic

Date Published: 25/02/2019

The Skylarks’ War by Hilary McKay is the winner of the Costa Award for 2018 and a future classic. It is a delightful, touching story of a family and the lives they led set against the background of the dark

Read More

Book of the Week

Date Published: 23/01/2019

Lenny’s Book of Everything by Karen Foxlee is a tender, heartbreaking novel about love and loss that will stay with you long after you have finished reading. This novel is not just for kids – readers of all ages will

Read More

Book of the Month

Date Published: 26/11/2018

Lenny’s Book of Everything by Karen Foxlee is a tender, heartbreaking novel about love and loss that will stay with you long after you have finished reading. This novel is not just for kids – readers of all ages will

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 10/09/2018

The Goose Road by Rowena House is a gripping coming of age quest which has been published to coincide with the centenary of the end of WWI. It is the story of a 14-year-old peasant girl and her remarkable journey across

Read More

Love is in the Air

Date Published: 28/08/2018

It’s Literacy and Numeracy Week at Mount Alvernia and we’re celebrating in the iCentre to acknowledge the support we all give to our students to develop stronger literacy and numeracy skills. Besides traditional literacy skills, we also want to raise awareness

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 16/07/2018

The Love That I Have by James Moloney is a heartbreaking, harrowing story set in World War 2 for readers of The Book Thief and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. With crossover appeal, we recommend it for both our YA

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 06/05/2018

Our Book of the Week is If I Tell You by Alicia Tuckerman, a leading voice for young LGBTQA+ voices in Australia. It is a contemporary, heart-wrenching romance and debut novel about identity, love, loss and being brave enough to

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 29/04/2018

YA Author Ellie Marney says her novel White Night  “revolves around the question of how teenagers find their ethical path if the adults around them are modelling dysfunction.”  Drawing on her own experiences of growing up in a community steeped in

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 20/03/2018

Living on Hope Street, by Turkish-Australian author Demet Divaroren, is a portrait of contemporary Australian urban life.  Everyone living on Hope Street in a multicultural Australia has a story, and their diversity is portrayed as a strength, not a threat.

Read More
View Sitemap Hide Sitemap
MTA crest © 2019 Mt Alvernia College. All rights reserved  
Website by Look Education