Search OPAC
Search OPAC

Tag Archives: loss

Book of the Week

Date Published: 27/04/2019

Set in Brisbane at the University of Queensland, The Things That Will Not Stand by Michael Gerard Bauer is a coming of age story which is both humorous and heart-breaking at the same time. It is highly recommended for our

Read More

Book of the Week and Future Classic

Date Published: 25/02/2019

The Skylarks’ War by Hilary McKay is the winner of the Costa Award for 2018 and a future classic. It is a delightful, touching story of a family and the lives they led set against the background of the dark

Read More

Book of the Week

Date Published: 23/01/2019

Lenny’s Book of Everything by Karen Foxlee is a tender, heartbreaking novel about love and loss that will stay with you long after you have finished reading. This novel is not just for kids – readers of all ages will

Read More

Book of the Month

Date Published: 26/11/2018

Lenny’s Book of Everything by Karen Foxlee is a tender, heartbreaking novel about love and loss that will stay with you long after you have finished reading. This novel is not just for kids – readers of all ages will

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 16/07/2018

The Love That I Have by James Moloney is a heartbreaking, harrowing story set in World War 2 for readers of The Book Thief and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. With crossover appeal, we recommend it for both our YA

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 18/06/2018

See you at Harry’s by Jo Knowles is a highly recommended read for our Middle School students. It deals with an unthinkable family tragedy and explores the themes of identity, acceptance and healing. The journey through grief is a raw

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 06/05/2018

Our Book of the Week is If I Tell You by Alicia Tuckerman, a leading voice for young LGBTQA+ voices in Australia. It is a contemporary, heart-wrenching romance and debut novel about identity, love, loss and being brave enough to

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 11/03/2018

Missing by Sue Whiting is a contemporary middle-grade mystery novel for readers 12+yrs.  It has a challenging and inherently sad topic about ‘missing persons’ which has been sensitively written about so as to make it accessible for younger readers. They

Read More
View Sitemap Hide Sitemap
MTA crest © 2019 Mt Alvernia College. All rights reserved  
Website by Look Education