Search OPAC
Search OPAC

Tag Archives: loss

Book of the Week

Date Published: 15/06/2021

Bila Yarrudhanggalangdhuray by Anita Heiss is a story that everyone should read. It raises awareness of First Nations’ perspectives on the early days of white settlement and introduces the reader to the Wiradyuri language. Based on true events, it’s a

Read More

Book of the Week

Date Published: 20/04/2021

With the current national discussion around the 30th anniversary of the 1991 Royal Commission into Aboriginal Deaths in Custody, it is fitting that our Book of the Week also tells an indigenous story.  Took the Children Away, the iconic song of the Stolen

Read More

Book of the Week

Date Published: 06/10/2020

Metal Fish, Falling Snow by Cath Moore is a tender, own voices story about a girl who has a magical view of the world and her search for identity.  The reader accompanies Dylan on her journey, both physical and emotional,

Read More

Book of the Week

Date Published: 27/04/2020

Wink by Rob Harrell is a heart-warming and uplifting story for Middle Years’ readers (10+ yrs) and is based on the author’s own experience as a child with rare eye cancer. As it is a multi-modal text, it can be

Read More

Book of the Week

Date Published: 24/02/2020

A New Kind of Every Thing by Richard Yaxley is a YA novel that simmers with tension and challenging themes but which delivers a powerful and moving story about navigating the challenges and traumas of growing up and of making

Read More

Book of the Week

Date Published: 27/04/2019

Set in Brisbane at the University of Queensland, The Things That Will Not Stand by Michael Gerard Bauer is a coming of age story which is both humorous and heart-breaking at the same time. It is highly recommended for our

Read More

Book of the Week and Future Classic

Date Published: 25/02/2019

The Skylarks’ War by Hilary McKay is the winner of the Costa Award for 2018 and a future classic. It is a delightful, touching story of a family and the lives they led set against the background of the dark

Read More

Book of the Week

Date Published: 23/01/2019

Lenny’s Book of Everything by Karen Foxlee is a tender, heartbreaking novel about love and loss that will stay with you long after you have finished reading. This novel is not just for kids – readers of all ages will

Read More

Book of the Month

Date Published: 26/11/2018

Lenny’s Book of Everything by Karen Foxlee is a tender, heartbreaking novel about love and loss that will stay with you long after you have finished reading. This novel is not just for kids – readers of all ages will

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 16/07/2018

The Love That I Have by James Moloney is a heartbreaking, harrowing story set in World War 2 for readers of The Book Thief and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. With crossover appeal, we recommend it for both our YA

Read More
View Sitemap Hide Sitemap
MTA crest © 2021 Mt Alvernia College. All rights reserved  
Website by Look Education