Search OPAC
Search OPAC

Tag Archives: grief

Book of the Week

Date Published: 11/03/2019

A Song Only I Can Hear by award-winning author Barry Jonsberg is a beautifully moving comedy-drama coming of age story. It is one of the first novels to deal with LGBTQ themes and issues for younger teens and middle years’

Read More

The Bogan Mondrian

Date Published: 15/10/2018

The Bogan Mondrian by Steven Herrick is a powerful YA novel about grief, domestic violence and making sense of the world by one of our favourite authors.  Dealing with big issues in a sensitive and nuanced way, this is recommended

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 18/06/2018

See you at Harry’s by Jo Knowles is a highly recommended read for our Middle School students. It deals with an unthinkable family tragedy and explores the themes of identity, acceptance and healing. The journey through grief is a raw

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 06/05/2018

Our Book of the Week is If I Tell You by Alicia Tuckerman, a leading voice for young LGBTQA+ voices in Australia. It is a contemporary, heart-wrenching romance and debut novel about identity, love, loss and being brave enough to

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 29/04/2018

Friendship and magical realism sparkle on the page in this heartwarming, delightfully eccentric illustrated middle-grade gem from an extraordinary new literary voice. Perfect for fans of A Snicker of Magic and The Penderwicks. Alberto lives alone in the town of Allora, where fish

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 11/03/2018

Missing by Sue Whiting is a contemporary middle-grade mystery novel for readers 12+yrs.  It has a challenging and inherently sad topic about ‘missing persons’ which has been sensitively written about so as to make it accessible for younger readers. They

Read More
View Sitemap Hide Sitemap
MTA crest © 2019 Mt Alvernia College. All rights reserved  
Website by Look Education