Search OPAC
Search OPAC

Tag Archives: coming of age

Book of the Week and Future Classic

Date Published: 25/02/2019

The Skylarks’ War by Hilary McKay is the winner of the Costa Award for 2018 and a future classic. It is a delightful, touching story of a family and the lives they led set against the background of the dark

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 11/02/2019

Girl Running, Boy Falling by Kate Gordon is a contemporary YA coming-of-age novel dealing with teen issues which will best suit our older readers (15+ yrs). Teen life has been expertly portrayed by the author and difficult topics are explored with understanding and

Read More

Fantasy Book of the Week

Date Published: 04/02/2019

Step boldly and start reading Wundersmith: The Calling of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend. You’ll love this imaginative, highly anticipated sequel in the Nevermoor series which follows the adventures of Morrigan as she joins the mystical Wundrous Society. This is

Read More

Read the Book, See the Movie

Date Published: 13/11/2018

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy is a funny, feel-good YA novel and a #1 New York Times bestseller. Read the book before 7th December when it will be released as a Netflix movie starring Jennifer Aniston and Danielle Macdonald, with a

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 05/11/2018

Tash hearts Tolstoy by Katherine Ormsbee is a contemporary, coming-of-age novel about internet fame and a welcome addition to the growing body of diverse YA literature. Funny and web-focused, this story will appeal to teens while challenging them to empathise with

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 22/10/2018

The Wonder of Us by Kim Culbertson is a delightful and positive story about female friendship set against a dizzying array of European cities. A light read for all ages, it explores how friendships can evolve, change and survive even

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 09/10/2018

After the Lights Go Out by Lili Wilkinson is a perfect YA read – it’s gripping, fast-paced, thought-provoking and will appeal to fans of the thriller genre.  Set in a post-disaster world, it’s a survival story about the daughter of

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 10/09/2018

The Goose Road by Rowena House is a gripping coming of age quest which has been published to coincide with the centenary of the end of WWI. It is the story of a 14-year-old peasant girl and her remarkable journey across

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 03/09/2018

Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson is a powerful coming of age story of an African American girl trying to find her place in the world by fitting together the hundreds of conflicting pieces of her life. The novel was a

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 16/07/2018

The Love That I Have by James Moloney is a heartbreaking, harrowing story set in World War 2 for readers of The Book Thief and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. With crossover appeal, we recommend it for both our YA

Read More
View Sitemap Hide Sitemap
MTA crest © 2019 Mt Alvernia College. All rights reserved  
Website by Look Education