Search OPAC
Search OPAC

Tag Archives: coming of age

Read the Book, See the Movie

Date Published: 13/11/2018

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy is a funny, feel-good YA novel and a #1 New York Times bestseller. Read the book before 7th December when it will be released as a Netflix movie starring Jennifer Aniston and Danielle Macdonald, with a

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 05/11/2018

Tash hearts Tolstoy by Katherine Ormsbee is a contemporary, coming-of-age novel about internet fame and a welcome addition to the growing body of diverse YA literature. Funny and web-focused, this story will appeal to teens while challenging them to empathise with

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 22/10/2018

The Wonder of Us by Kim Culbertson is a delightful and positive story about female friendship set against a dizzying array of European cities. A light read for all ages, it explores how friendships can evolve, change and survive even

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 09/10/2018

After the Lights Go Out by Lili Wilkinson is a perfect YA read – it’s gripping, fast-paced, thought-provoking and will appeal to fans of the thriller genre.  Set in a post-disaster world, it’s a survival story about the daughter of

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 10/09/2018

The Goose Road by Rowena House is a gripping coming of age quest which has been published to coincide with the centenary of the end of WWI. It is the story of a 14-year-old peasant girl and her remarkable journey across

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 03/09/2018

Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson is a powerful coming of age story of an African American girl trying to find her place in the world by fitting together the hundreds of conflicting pieces of her life. The novel was a

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 16/07/2018

The Love That I Have by James Moloney is a heartbreaking, harrowing story set in World War 2 for readers of The Book Thief and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. With crossover appeal, we recommend it for both our YA

Read More

Stories That Matter

Date Published: 26/06/2018

Stories That Matter is a discussion about contemporary realistic YA novels that deal with big issues like mental health, sexuality and self-discovery. It poses the question of whether we should shelter our students from these novels or use them to

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 28/05/2018

The Someday Birds by Sally J Pla is a madcap road trip, a coming-of-age story for an autistic boy who feels he doesn’t understand the world, and an uplifting portrait of a family overcoming a crisis. It is a stunning and

Read More

CBCA Shortlisted Book of the Year for Older Readers

Date Published: 25/05/2018

Take Three Girls is a thought-provoking read about female friendship for our Senior Fiction readers (15+). Collaboratively written by three friends and award-winning novelists Cath Crowley, Simmone Howell and Fiona Wood, this is a coming of age story dealing with

Read More
View Sitemap Hide Sitemap
MTA crest © 2019 Mt Alvernia College. All rights reserved  
Website by Look Education