Search OPAC
Search OPAC

News & Reviews

3 Top Study Tips for Students

Date Published: 30/04/2018

Learning how to be organised and study effectively is an important skill for secondary school students. We subscribe to Dr. Prue Salter’s  Study Skills Handbook which provides resources, worksheets, and tips to help you establish effective study habits. You can find

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 29/04/2018

Friendship and magical realism sparkle on the page in this heartwarming, delightfully eccentric illustrated middle-grade gem from an extraordinary new literary voice. Perfect for fans of A Snicker of Magic and The Penderwicks. Alberto lives alone in the town of Allora, where fish

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 29/04/2018

YA Author Ellie Marney says her novel White Night  “revolves around the question of how teenagers find their ethical path if the adults around them are modelling dysfunction.”  Drawing on her own experiences of growing up in a community steeped in

Read More

Get the Facts about Sarahah

Date Published: 23/04/2018

There has been a lot of publicity about Sarahah, an anonymous feedback app that teens are using to pass anonymous digital notes to each other, and the concerns it raises about cyberbullying. We have been hearing a lot about it

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 22/04/2018

The Last Days of Us by Bec Nicholas is our YA Book of the Week. It is a moving, road-trip themed coming-of-age story and exploration of grief. The story takes place as a group of friends travels by Kombi from

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 22/04/2018

Grace on the Court by professional netballer Maddy Proud will be enjoyed by netball fans, especially in the aftermath of the Commonwealth Games and the thrilling final match in which the Australian Diamonds played. The author was disappointed about the

Read More

Two New Digital Magazine Subscriptions

Date Published: 13/04/2018

We have recently purchased two new magazine subscriptions to The Monthly and Quarterly Essay. These will be particularly useful resources for our senior students and will support their research inquiries. Students are encouraged to explore these new resources and add them to

Read More

Onward If You Dare!

Date Published: 13/04/2018

Unearthed is our Book of the Week for science-fiction and middle years’ readers 12ys+.  It is a fast-paced story of high stakes adventures and running through alien temples on the other side of the galaxy. Collaboratively written by Meagan Spooner

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 13/04/2018

Between Us by Clare Atkins is a heart-breaking teenage love story set against the grim reality of life for asylum seekers in an Australian detention centre. It is recommended for YA readers and adults alike and will expand your world views

Read More

Holiday Reads for Grown Ups

Date Published: 23/03/2018

We’ve got your holiday reading sorted with our list of recommendations.  We have so enjoyed sharing great reads with our Breakfast Book Chat groups this term and hope that you might be able to join us for our second term

Read More
View Sitemap Hide Sitemap
MTA crest © 2019 Mt Alvernia College. All rights reserved  
Website by Look Education