Search OPAC
Search OPAC

News & Reviews

CBCA Shortlisted Book of the Year for Older Readers

Date Published: 25/05/2018

Take Three Girls is a thought-provoking read about female friendship for our Senior Fiction readers (15+). Collaboratively written by three friends and award-winning novelists Cath Crowley, Simmone Howell and Fiona Wood, this is a coming of age story dealing with

Read More

FREE Shine for Girls Magazine

Date Published: 14/05/2018

Shine for Girls is a FREE inspirational digital magazine which celebrates everyday girls. It’s a great read for all ages but is especially meaningful for 7-12-year-old girls. It was launched in October 2017 by two women who are passionate about empowering young

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 13/05/2018

Review by Krystal Gagen: I read Murder Most Unladylike because we’ve had an increasing number of students in years 7 and 8 asking for “murder mysteries.” I have no real idea as to why these types of stories are becoming popular again,

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 13/05/2018

I Have Lost My Way by Gayle Forman is a heartwrenching, poignant, contemporary YA novel about three very different teens who are lost, but who together find their way. It deals sensitively with some big issues that our older readers

Read More

Whisper by Lynette Noni

Date Published: 06/05/2018

It’s here!  Whisper (Whisper #1) by Lynette Noni has just been released and we’re all excited to start this new series by one of our favourite authors.  A blend of fantasy and thriller with a dystopian edge, Whisper is a riveting read

Read More

Growing Up Aboriginal in Australia

Date Published: 06/05/2018

What is it like to grow up Aboriginal in Australia? Edited by Anita Heiss, this anthology of 52 unique and diverse stories articulates what it has been like for people on the ground who have grown up Aboriginal in Australia.

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 06/05/2018

Our Book of the Week is If I Tell You by Alicia Tuckerman, a leading voice for young LGBTQA+ voices in Australia. It is a contemporary, heart-wrenching romance and debut novel about identity, love, loss and being brave enough to

Read More

3 Top Study Tips for Students

Date Published: 30/04/2018

Learning how to be organised and study effectively is an important skill for secondary school students. We subscribe to Dr. Prue Salter’s  Study Skills Handbook which provides resources, worksheets, and tips to help you establish effective study habits. You can find

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 29/04/2018

Friendship and magical realism sparkle on the page in this heartwarming, delightfully eccentric illustrated middle-grade gem from an extraordinary new literary voice. Perfect for fans of A Snicker of Magic and The Penderwicks. Alberto lives alone in the town of Allora, where fish

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 29/04/2018

YA Author Ellie Marney says her novel White Night  “revolves around the question of how teenagers find their ethical path if the adults around them are modelling dysfunction.”  Drawing on her own experiences of growing up in a community steeped in

Read More
View Sitemap Hide Sitemap
MTA crest © 2019 Mt Alvernia College. All rights reserved  
Website by Look Education