Search OPAC
Search OPAC

News & Reviews

Read Like a Girl with Your Dad

Date Published: 20/07/2018

We’re excited to be hosting this great event and initiative in the iCentre on Tuesday night, July 24th, from 6 – 7.30pm.  See you there! Read Like a Girl Father Daughter Event Attention Dads of students in Year 7 &

Read More

Student Book Reviews

Date Published: 20/07/2018

This week we have our Yr 8 students recommending books for us to read. Students from Mrs Donohue’s Yr 8 class are our guest reviewers this week and they have produced some great graphic book reviews to share.  Take a look

Read More

New Podcast

Date Published: 20/07/2018

Fierce Girls is a new ABC podcast that shares and celebrates the stories of #fiercegirls – ordinary girls who are adventurous, who do things differently, and who have loads of spirit. Subscribe and listen in any podcast app. Take a

Read More

The TED Talk Project

Date Published: 16/07/2018

This term our Yr 8 Retech students will be presenting TED talks to draw attention to an issue and its impact and to suggest strategies to solve or improve the current situation.  Alternatively, topics may be inspirational, aiming to affect change

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 16/07/2018

The Love That I Have by James Moloney is a heartbreaking, harrowing story set in World War 2 for readers of The Book Thief and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. With crossover appeal, we recommend it for both our YA

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 16/07/2018

Truly Wildly Deeply by Jenny McLachlan is a warm inspiring feel-good contemporary romance for our Middle Years’ readers.  It explores the themes of identity, independence, first love, and living with a disability. Graphic Book Review

Read More

Stories That Matter

Date Published: 26/06/2018

Stories That Matter is a discussion about contemporary realistic YA novels that deal with big issues like mental health, sexuality and self-discovery. It poses the question of whether we should shelter our students from these novels or use them to

Read More

Staff Breakfast Bookchat

Date Published: 26/06/2018

It’s Breakfast Bookchat time again and we welcome the opportunity of sharing some favourite reads with our staff.  Find out what we’ve been reading across a number of genres, and what we have been watching and listening to as well. 

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 18/06/2018

Far from the Tree by Robin Benway is a contemporary realistic YA novel about belonging and finding your family. Told from the perspective of three adopted teens, the book highlights some heavy issues, such as teen pregnancy, foster care abuses, adoption,

Read More

Australian YA Awards

Date Published: 18/06/2018

Exciting times for Thomas Good (Yr 11 Padua College), a member of the senior Padua and Mt Alvernia book club. Thomas has been selected as a judge for the 2018 Inky Awards! We all have our personal favourite young-adult (YA)

Read More
View Sitemap Hide Sitemap
MTA crest © 2018 Mt Alvernia College. All rights reserved  
Website by DesignByLook