Search OPAC
Search OPAC

Category Archives: YA Book of the Week

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 22/10/2018

The Wonder of Us by Kim Culbertson is a delightful and positive story about female friendship set against a dizzying array of European cities. A light read for all ages, it explores how friendships can evolve, change and survive even

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 09/10/2018

After the Lights Go Out by Lili Wilkinson is a perfect YA read – it’s gripping, fast-paced, thought-provoking and will appeal to fans of the thriller genre.  Set in a post-disaster world, it’s a survival story about the daughter of

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 13/05/2018

Review by Krystal Gagen: I read Murder Most Unladylike because we’ve had an increasing number of students in years 7 and 8 asking for “murder mysteries.” I have no real idea as to why these types of stories are becoming popular again,

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 13/05/2018

I Have Lost My Way by Gayle Forman is a heartwrenching, poignant, contemporary YA novel about three very different teens who are lost, but who together find their way. It deals sensitively with some big issues that our older readers

Read More

Whisper by Lynette Noni

Date Published: 06/05/2018

It’s here!  Whisper (Whisper #1) by Lynette Noni has just been released and we’re all excited to start this new series by one of our favourite authors.  A blend of fantasy and thriller with a dystopian edge, Whisper is a riveting read

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 06/05/2018

Our Book of the Week is If I Tell You by Alicia Tuckerman, a leading voice for young LGBTQA+ voices in Australia. It is a contemporary, heart-wrenching romance and debut novel about identity, love, loss and being brave enough to

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 29/04/2018

Friendship and magical realism sparkle on the page in this heartwarming, delightfully eccentric illustrated middle-grade gem from an extraordinary new literary voice. Perfect for fans of A Snicker of Magic and The Penderwicks. Alberto lives alone in the town of Allora, where fish

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 29/04/2018

YA Author Ellie Marney says her novel White Night  “revolves around the question of how teenagers find their ethical path if the adults around them are modelling dysfunction.”  Drawing on her own experiences of growing up in a community steeped in

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 22/04/2018

Grace on the Court by professional netballer Maddy Proud will be enjoyed by netball fans, especially in the aftermath of the Commonwealth Games and the thrilling final match in which the Australian Diamonds played. The author was disappointed about the

Read More

Onward If You Dare!

Date Published: 13/04/2018

Unearthed is our Book of the Week for science-fiction and middle years’ readers 12ys+.  It is a fast-paced story of high stakes adventures and running through alien temples on the other side of the galaxy. Collaboratively written by Meagan Spooner

Read More
View Sitemap Hide Sitemap
MTA crest © 2019 Mt Alvernia College. All rights reserved  
Website by Look Education