Search OPAC
Search OPAC

Category Archives: Book Review

Student Book Reviews

Date Published: 20/07/2018

This week we have our Yr 8 students recommending books for us to read. Students from Mrs Donohue’s Yr 8 class are our guest reviewers this week and they have produced some great graphic book reviews to share.  Take a look

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 16/07/2018

The Love That I Have by James Moloney is a heartbreaking, harrowing story set in World War 2 for readers of The Book Thief and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. With crossover appeal, we recommend it for both our YA

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 16/07/2018

Truly Wildly Deeply by Jenny McLachlan is a warm inspiring feel-good contemporary romance for our Middle Years’ readers.  It explores the themes of identity, independence, first love, and living with a disability. Graphic Book Review

Read More

Stories That Matter

Date Published: 26/06/2018

Stories That Matter is a discussion about contemporary realistic YA novels that deal with big issues like mental health, sexuality and self-discovery. It poses the question of whether we should shelter our students from these novels or use them to

Read More

Staff Breakfast Bookchat

Date Published: 26/06/2018

It’s Breakfast Bookchat time again and we welcome the opportunity of sharing some favourite reads with our staff.  Find out what we’ve been reading across a number of genres, and what we have been watching and listening to as well. 

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 18/06/2018

Far from the Tree by Robin Benway is a contemporary realistic YA novel about belonging and finding your family. Told from the perspective of three adopted teens, the book highlights some heavy issues, such as teen pregnancy, foster care abuses, adoption,

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 18/06/2018

See you at Harry’s by Jo Knowles is a highly recommended read for our Middle School students. It deals with an unthinkable family tragedy and explores the themes of identity, acceptance and healing. The journey through grief is a raw

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 04/06/2018

Book Review by Ms. Gagen Book cover design by Shelby Peace, Yr 7 When I first started at Mount Alvernia College in 2016, I was asked to take over the Readers’ Cup team. One of the books that year was Fuzzy

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 28/05/2018

The Someday Birds by Sally J Pla is a madcap road trip, a coming-of-age story for an autistic boy who feels he doesn’t understand the world, and an uplifting portrait of a family overcoming a crisis. It is a stunning and

Read More

I’m Australian Too

Date Published: 25/05/2018

I’m Australian Too by Mem Fox and illustrated by Ronojoy Ghosh is one of the 2018 CBCA shortlisted picture books for Book of the Year: Early Childhood. Celebrating our multicultural heritage, this story illustrates the richness we find in diversity

Read More
View Sitemap Hide Sitemap
MTA crest © 2020 Mt Alvernia College. All rights reserved  
Website by Look Education