Search OPAC
Search OPAC

Category Archives: Book Review

Holiday Reads for our Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 18/09/2018

Holidays are meant for reading!  We’ve got plenty of recommendations for our younger readers to add to their holiday reading lists and to borrow in whatever format they prefer – book, ebook or audio – depending on availability. This term,

Read More

YA Holiday Reads

Date Published: 18/09/2018

Holidays are meant for reading!  We’ve got plenty of recommendations for our YA readers to add to their holiday reading lists and to borrow in whatever format they prefer – book, ebook or audio – depending on availability. This term,

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 10/09/2018

Grace and Fury (Grace and Fury #1) by Tracy Banghart is a gripping fantasy romance that has been described as a cross between The Hunger Games and The Handmaid’s Tale for the YA generation. Set in a patriarchal world, this

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 10/09/2018

The Goose Road by Rowena House is a gripping coming of age quest which has been published to coincide with the centenary of the end of WWI. It is the story of a 14-year-old peasant girl and her remarkable journey across

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 03/09/2018

Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson is a powerful coming of age story of an African American girl trying to find her place in the world by fitting together the hundreds of conflicting pieces of her life. The novel was a

Read More

Everything All At Once

Date Published: 16/08/2018

Everything All At Once by Steve Camden (aka Polarbear) is a collection of poems about one week in a secondary school where everything happens all at once, and is an achingly poignant read for all secondary school students. Teachers could

Read More

Read the Book, See the Movie

Date Published: 16/08/2018

The Darkest Minds is the first novel of a psychic thriller series by Alexandra Bracken. Set in a near-future dystopia where most children have died and those who have survived have super powers, this story is for those readers who loved The

Read More

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Date Published: 06/08/2018

Sweet Adversity by Sheryl Gwynther is a fun, historical adventure story about a feisty young girl of great spirit who triumphs over immense pressures and overwhelming odds. Our younger readers will love this feel-good and character-driven story of an irrepressible

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 06/08/2018

Found by Fleur Ferris is another tense and thrilling page-turner from a master of suspense.  It’s fast paced and once you start reading it, you won’t be able to put it down! It will send you looking for other great

Read More

YA Book of the Week

Date Published: 30/07/2018

Small Spaces by Sarah Epstein is a YA psychological thriller and a gripping read which will reel you in and keep you guessing.  But be warned – it will have your heart racing! Fans of Fleur Ferris and Rebecca James

Read More
View Sitemap Hide Sitemap
MTA crest © 2020 Mt Alvernia College. All rights reserved  
Website by Look Education