Search OPAC
Search OPAC

Monthly Archives: April 2018

3 Top Study Tips for Students

Written on April 30, 2018 at 2:37 pm, by

Learning how to be organised and study effectively is an important skill for secondary school students. We subscribe to Dr. Prue Salter’s  Study Skills Handbook which provides resources, worksheets, and tips to help you establish effective study habits. You can find this resource under the Quicklinks tab on our website. You can also subscribe to Prue Salter’s […]

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Written on April 29, 2018 at 11:18 am, by

Friendship and magical realism sparkle on the page in this heartwarming, delightfully eccentric illustrated middle-grade gem from an extraordinary new literary voice. Perfect for fans of A Snicker of Magic and The Penderwicks. Alberto lives alone in the town of Allora, where fish fly out of the sea and the houses shine like jewels. He is a coffin […]

YA Book of the Week

Written on April 29, 2018 at 10:43 am, by

YA Author Ellie Marney says her novel White Night  “revolves around the question of how teenagers find their ethical path if the adults around them are modelling dysfunction.”  Drawing on her own experiences of growing up in a community steeped in fanaticism, she explores the themes of identity and making your own decisions in this compelling, […]

Get the Facts about Sarahah

Written on April 23, 2018 at 3:19 pm, by

There has been a lot of publicity about Sarahah, an anonymous feedback app that teens are using to pass anonymous digital notes to each other, and the concerns it raises about cyberbullying. We have been hearing a lot about it at ground level among our students. What do you need to know about it? What […]

YA Book of the Week

Written on April 22, 2018 at 4:55 pm, by

The Last Days of Us by Bec Nicholas is our YA Book of the Week. It is a moving, road-trip themed coming-of-age story and exploration of grief. The story takes place as a group of friends travels by Kombi from Adelaide to Melbourne, which turns into a journey of righting past wrongs and of self-discovery. […]

Book of the Week for Middle Years’ Readers

Written on April 22, 2018 at 4:12 pm, by

Grace on the Court by professional netballer Maddy Proud will be enjoyed by netball fans, especially in the aftermath of the Commonwealth Games and the thrilling final match in which the Australian Diamonds played. The author was disappointed about the lack of novels written about her chosen sport of netball and so she decided to […]

Two New Digital Magazine Subscriptions

Written on April 13, 2018 at 9:17 pm, by

We have recently purchased two new magazine subscriptions to The Monthly and Quarterly Essay. These will be particularly useful resources for our senior students and will support their research inquiries. Students are encouraged to explore these new resources and add them to their research toolkit.   Slider images: public domain  

Onward If You Dare!

Written on April 13, 2018 at 8:12 pm, by

Unearthed is our Book of the Week for science-fiction and middle years’ readers 12ys+.  It is a fast-paced story of high stakes adventures and running through alien temples on the other side of the galaxy. Collaboratively written by Meagan Spooner and Amie Kaufman, it can be best described as what would happen if Indiana Jones […]

YA Book of the Week

Written on April 13, 2018 at 7:40 pm, by

Between Us by Clare Atkins is a heart-breaking teenage love story set against the grim reality of life for asylum seekers in an Australian detention centre. It is recommended for YA readers and adults alike and will expand your world views about asylum seekers and their reasons for seeking life in another country. This story will […]

View Sitemap Hide Sitemap
MTA crest © 2022 Mt Alvernia College. All rights reserved  
Website by Look Education